Mrs. Neely – Journalism

It's all storytelling. That's what journalism is all about.

Archive for October, 2017

Lesson Plans for October 30 – November 3

October27

Monday, October 30 Assign new stories; students will submit/make revisions to current stories. Headline writing practice sheet Discuss revisions to news stories/briefs Tuesday, October 31 Review for test (Headline Writing/News Writing/Sports Writing Discuss revisions to sports briefs. Wednesday, November 1 Journalism Test (Headline Writing, News Story, Sports Brief Thursday, November 2 Sportswriting – introduction to […]

Lesson Plans for October 23-27

October20

Monday, October 23 UIL Headline Writing – review 6 headlines Assign stories/photos/briefs for online newspaper Tuesday, October 24 Headline writing activity – practice for online newspaper stories Edit/revise stories/briefs for online newspaper Wednesday, October 25 UIL News Story #3 – 45 minute timed assignment. Write headline for News Story #3 Thursday, October 26 Revise News […]

Lesson Plans for October 16-20

October20

Monday, October 16 Discuss and assign new stories, briefs, photo assignments Review AP Style Introduce Headline Writing Tuesday, October 17 Headline Writing: rules, count, prompts Demonstrate Headline Writing – upstyle/downstyle; spacing; review rules UIL Headline Writing #1 – complete 6 headlines using counts, rules, upstyle/downstyle Wednesday, October 18 complete UIL Headline Writing #1 Post stories […]

Lesson Plans for October 9-13

October12

Monday, October 9 Brainstorm story ideas for online newspaper. AP Style and practice sheets. Tuesday, October 10 AP powerpoint and practice. Assign stories and beats for the online newspaper. Wednesday, October 11 Assign UIL Newswriting Prompt #2 – due tomorrow Thursday, October 12 Turn in completed stories for online newspaper. Make photo and story assignment […]

Lesson Plans for October 2-6

October2

Monday, October 2 Revise stories for online newspaper. Interview sources for Art and Tech Club Develop interview questions and research background for new stories assigned. Tuesday, October 3 Refine stories and write headlines for online newspaper. Proofread final stories/headlines prior to publishing. Post stories and photos to online newspaper site. (online newspaper) http://womsj.wonecks.net/ Wednesday, October […]


Skip to toolbar