Mrs. Neely – Journalism

It's all storytelling. That's what journalism is all about.

Lesson Plans May 14-18

May15

Monday, May 14

  • Work on captions, lead-ins, headline and subheads for boys and girls track spreads
  • Identify names for MS group photos

Tuesday, May 15

  • Work on captions, lead-ins, headline and subheads for boys and girls track spreads
  • Identify names for MS group photos
  • Awards Day in Journalism–CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL!!!

Wednesday, May 16

  • STAAR Test day for 8th grade

Thursday, May 17

  • STAAR Test day for 8th grade

Friday, May 18

  • 8th Grade Reward Trip
  • Check all storyboard published work
  • Finish up final assignments

**JOURNALISM FIELD TRIP NEXT TUESDAY, MAY 22 to Longview News-Journal. Bus is leaving the Middle School at 7:50 a.m.

TEKS 110.62.02, 110.62.03, 110.62.04 and 110.62.05

‘We Believe in ALL Kids ALL the Time’

Lesson Plans May 7-11

May8

Monday, May 7

  • Rework headline assignment for re-grade
  • Finish up extra assignments from last week.

Tuesday, May 8

  • UIL News Story prompt – timed writing

Wednesday, May 9

  • Work on Yearbook pages for MS Boys and Girls Track
  • UIL News Story prompts for students who STAAR tested on Tuesday.

Thursday, May 10

  • Finish Yearbook pages for MS Boys and Girls Track — final submissions

Friday, May 11

  • UIL Editorial Writing Prompt – timed writing; submit

TEKS 110.62.02, 110.62.04 and 110.62.05

‘We Believe in ALL Kids ALL the Time’

Lesson Plans April 9-13

April12

Monday, April 9

  • Students are working on Storyboard projects.

Tuesday, April 10

  • NO CLASS – STAAR TESTS

Wednesday, April 11

  • NO CLASS – STAAR TESTS

Thursday, April 12

  • Students work on Storyboard projects and Girls/Boys MS Track Yearbook pages

Friday, April 13

  • Informational Meeting with HS Yearbook/Newspaper Adviser about HS Journalism Opportunities
  • Students work on Storyboard projects and Track pages – see deadline chart

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L) 110.62(4)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL the Time

Lesson Plans March 26-30

March26

Monday, March 26

  • Penny Press and Introduction to Yellow Journalism
  • Student presentations: William Randolph Hearst, Joseph Pulitzer, Nelly Bly, Spanish-American War
  • Discuss timeline of events

Tuesday, March 27

  • Muckraking and newspapers developing a significant social consciousness (explain & elaborate)
  • New medium of magazines in the late 19th and early 20th centuries
  • Student presentations: Minority Media – Robert S. Abbott; Native American newspapers: The Cherokee Phoenix and Lakota Times; Advent of Radio
  • Add to timeline

Wednesday, March 28

  • Discuss high points of media events/movements through the 1900-1960s.
  • Add to timeline of events.

Thursday, March 29

  • Discuss high points of media events/movements through the 1970s-2000s.
  • Add to timeline of events.

Friday, March 30

  • Good Friday Holiday

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L) 110.62(4)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL the Time

Lesson Plans March 19-23

March19

Monday, March 19

  • Teacher Work Day/No Students

Tuesday, March 20

  • History of Journalism
  • Introduce vocabulary specific to unit of study
  • Introduction – Penny Press, Freedom of the Press and Impact of TV and Radio
  • Homework to assigned students

Wednesday, March 21

  • Birth of a Nation/Peter Zenger and the Zenger Trial and the Penny Press
  • Student presentations: Horace Greeley, James Gordon Bennett, Jane Grey Swisshelm, The New York Times & Henry Raymond, The effect of the telegraph
  • Homework to assigned students

Thursday, March 22

  • Yellow Journalism – definition; derived from; notable Yellow Journalists
  • Student presentations: William Randolph Hearst, Joseph Pulitzer, Nelly Bly, Spanish-American War
  • Homework to assigned students

Friday, March 23

  • Muckraking and newspapers developing a significant social consciousness – explain and elaborate
  • New medium of magazines in the late 19th and early 20th centuries
  • Student presentations: Minority Media & Robert S. Abbott; first Native American Newspaper – the Cherokee Phoenix; Lakota Times and Tim Giago; Advent of Radio

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L) 110.62(4)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL the Time

Lesson Plans March 5-9

March6

Monday, March 5

  • Work on Storyboard assignments (Art, Construction, MS Spring Fling, Track)
  • Work on yearbook spreads; interview students and finalize details

Tuesday, March 6

  • Work on yearbook spreads; interview students and finalize spread details
  • Work on Storyboard assignments

Wednesday, March 7

  • Write headlines, secondary headlines for each mod on yearbook spread
  • Type in quotes, proofread and spell check.

Thursday, March 8

  • Proofread final spreads – photos, caption lead-ins, caption/quotes, headlines, secondary headlines
  • Work on Storyboard assignments

Friday, March 9

  • Finish proofreading yearbook spreads and submit for grade and deadline
  • Send group photos with identification of students/captions

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L) 110.62(4)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL the Time

Lesson Plans for February 26-March 2

February26

Monday, February 26

  • Review Ethics Test
  • Discuss News Story #6 Leads
  • Storyboard assignments

Tuesday, February 27

  • Dissect the news story information to plan for news peg, transition paragraphs and quotes
  • Finish news story #6 and submit through google
  • Sports groups collaborate to select photos for yearbook spreads

Wednesday, February 28

  • Sports groups collaborate on photo mods,
  • Write headlines, secondary headlines

Thursday, March 1

  • Sports groups collaborate on photo mods/organize/develop list of student athletes for quotes

Friday, March 2

  • Interview students for quotes for yearbook spreads
  • Develop caption mini-headlines
  • Finalize photo mods

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L) 110.62(4)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL of the Time

Lesson Plans for February 19-23

February23

Monday, February 19

  • School Holiday

Tuesday, February 20

  • Work in collaborative groups to identify yearbook group photos; verify names, spelling, row order.

Wednesday, February 21

  • Work in collaborative groups to determine code of ethics to include in staff policy manual.
  • Review and discuss each part and how the code of ethics impacts the staff.

Thursday, February 22

  • Discuss the Supreme Court Case Tinker vs. Des Moines and the decisions impact it had on First Amendment rights.
  • Review for Ethics and Legal Responsibilities Test

Friday, February 23

  • Ethics and Legal Responsibilities Test
  • Read News Writing #6 Assignment and write lead paragraph in a new google doc. Submit for grade.

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL of the Time

Lesson Plans for February 12-16

February13

Monday, February 12

  • Write caption lead in’s for football and volleyball yearbook spreads
  • Resume discussion on Journalism Ethics and case scenarios

Tuesday, February 13

  • Campus Benchmark Tests (No Journalism Class)

Wednesday, February 14

  • Campus Benchmark Tests (No Journalism Class)

Thursday, February 15

  • Review code of ethics/How do these code of ethics relate to our middle school newspaper?
  • Work in teams to prepare of code of standards/ethics for the WOMS online newspaper. Compare our code to the code of ethics of the Society of Professional Journalists; Display on the board.

Friday, February 16

  • Work in collaborative teams to identify students and write captions for middle school group photos.

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C); 110.62(2)(K); 110.62(2)(L)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL of the Time

Lesson Plans for February 5-9

February5

Monday, February 5

  • Collaborative groups work on finalizing layouts/photos
  • Interview students that correlate with photos

Tuesday, February 6

  • Interview students for football, volleyball and cross country spreads
  • Type up interviews for yearbook pages

Wednesday, February 7

  • Students will proofread caption/quote information for each photo mod and store in the google doc

Thursday, February 8

  • Law and Ethics (8 qualities of a good journalist)
  • Vocabulary
  • Significant events in history

Friday, February 9

  • Continue Ethics in Journalism

TEKS: 110.62(1)(B)(C) 110.62(2)(G) 110.62(2)(E)(I) 110.62(2)(L)

We Believe in ALL Kids, ALL of the Time

« Older Entries

Skip to toolbar